Colorado Sports Hall of Fame to bring six new members to 57th annual celebration – The Denver Post

The Colorado Sports Hall of Fame will bring six new members to its 57th annual celebration in 2022, with former Broncos wide receiver and three-time Super Bowl champion Ed McCaffrey leading the class.

McCaffrey, now football coach of the University of Northern Colorado, is joined by Carol Callan, Chuck Williams, Darnell McDonald, Roger Kinney and DaVarryl Williamson, the Hall of Fame announced Tuesday.

Callan served as director of the national women’s team for USA Basketball for 25 years – a time that saw U.S. women win seven Olympic gold medals and five world championships. Williams, a high school basketball standout in Denver East and CU, played eight seasons in the ABA / NBA and was drafted by the 76ers in 1968.

McDonald starred for Cherry Creek in football and baseball and played seven seasons in Major League Baseball. Williamson, who went by the nickname “Touch of Sleep,” has won 10 national titles as a boxer and has a 27-8 record as a professional with 23 knockouts. Kinney was instrumental in bringing the 1990 NCAA men’s basketball Final Four to Denver and helped behind the scenes to bring an MLB franchise to Colorado.

The 57th annual banquet is set for May 4 at the Hilton Denver City Center.

Leave a Comment