My life in numbers


by Boycott Lindsey

Greetings BAD Community. I hope everyone is having a magical day even though Tuesdays are basically a disappointment. Some of you have told me that numbers are important, so I want to share some of my monthly expenses. I did not go into discretionary spending because that is a topic for another day. Before we get to that, here is my life by the numbers:

Hello, my name is Lindsey. I have a bachelor’s degree in psychology and currently work as a mental health extension worker for the provincial health authority. I make around $ 75,000 a year, but I can make extra money if I’m a freelance writer, up to $ 15,000 in a year. But I try to avoid working so hard because I burn out and then I’m useless.

Single motherhood and university

When I graduated from college, I had to pay off $ 45,000 in student loans because I was raising my daughter while she went to school. My first job paid next to nothing, and at first it was difficult to make ends meet. Nonetheless, I paid off all those loans even though it took me eighteen years. Buh. Bye.

Love, marriage and buying a house

I ventured into real estate when I bought a house ten years ago with my then husband, but it didn’t last. In the first year, an intense storm caused water to pour in through the lights in our pots; insurance didn’t pay, but we were still on the hook. The second year, there was a hail storm with a costly deductible. To this day, I believe this house was made out of marshmallows and built on top of a sacred graveyard. I was so cursed.

My spouse was unemployed for about eighteen months during this time, so we decided to sell the house. It was no one’s fault; They were only three bad years and we ran out of options. We made a modest profit on the sale and paid off the cars and credit card debt. We separated in 2016 and finalized the divorce in 2019. There was no bad blood; it was simply something that had to happen.

Boldly go on, child

My daughter moved and started college in 2016. She is done with school for now, but is still holding a full-time job. I guess you can tell that she still finds herself and is happy to work whatever job she is at right now. Being young is a journey, and sometimes one path is windier than another.

Here and now

Now, I am a 45-year-old ’empty nest’ with a reasonable career and few financial obligations. I will pay off my last credit card debt in the next month and I will have less than two years on my car loan. I have some additional expenses like my $ 500 personal training package that I signed up with my gym. I wanted to make my health a priority and I have a flexible spending account as part of my benefits that covers most of it.

I am in a common law relationship with my partner of four years. He has three children and sees them every other weekend. When I started dating him, his children were older and my relationship with them reflects that reality. After speaking with an attorney, I decided to keep my finances separate, as it is easy to get legally entangled in financial obligations for child support. Is there anyone else in a ‘mixed’ household? If so, how do you decide to split the expenses?

I can’t sing, I can’t dance and I’m too fat to fly

As for my career, I have no idea what I’m doing. I have reached the upper limit of what I can do with my degree. Healthcare is a highly regulated profession, so your options are limited unless you go back to school for a degree very similar to your current one. It’s a really cool job and there are a lot of perks like a great defined benefit pension plan, strong union protections, prescription drug coverage, and a flexible spending account. But it also keeps me stuck because I don’t want to leave a safe and warm working cocoon for a “risky” job in the private sector. What would you do?

When it comes to financial goals, I’m just as stuck. I think paying for my car faster could be a good goal. I don’t think it will save me money, but it is one less monthly payment. While that’s important, I also need to spend more time planning my retirement. If I stay in health care, I will pay for a defined benefit pension plan that will pay about $ 50,000 a year. On the other hand, I will have to save a lot more if I switch to the private sector.

Anyway, here is my current budget. The rest will come when you find out how best to share all this information.

What do you guys think?

** You may need to use the drop down menu for the table to show all 12 lines of my quote.

Rent $ 900
Car payment $ 330
Car insurance $ 170
Gas $ 200
Credit card $ 200
Mobile phone with AppleCare $ 150
Streaming services $ 40
Utilities $ 150
Web and Internet Hosting $ 90
Gym $ 55
Personal training $ 500
Total $ 2785

Photo by Danielle MacInnes on Unsplash



Source link

Leave a Comment

x